IDSO Spring Meeting 2021

July 17, 2021


8:00 a.m.Join Presentation Platform
8:10 a.m. WelcomeConstantine Tsigrelis, MD
President, IDSO
Cleveland Clinic

8:15 a.m. Engagement & Onboarding for Newly Hired ID ProvidersBethany Lehman, DO
Cleveland Clinic
8:45 a.m. Telemedicine in the Practice of Infectious DiseasesJeremy Young, MD
Ohio State University
9:15 a.m.IDSA ID Physician Compensation Initiative Update Daniel P. McQuillen, MD, FIDSA, FACP
President-Elect, IDSA
Lahey Hospital and Medical Center
Tufts University School of Medicine

10:15 a.m. Break
10:25 a.m.Mosquito and Tickborne Diseases of Public Health Importance in Ohio Shelby Hale, MPH
Epidemiologist, Zoonotic Disease Program, Bureau of Infectious Diseases
Ohio Department of Health

11:25 a.m. Association between Perfluorinated (“aka Forever”) Chemical Exposure and Humoral Responses to Pneumococcal Vaccines Senu Apewokin, MD
University of Cincinnati
11:55 a.m. Kidney Transplantation in People Living with HIV Anita Modi, MD
Cleveland Clinic
12:25 - 1 p.m.LUNCH
12:35 - 1 p.m. Breakout Session:
IDSO Business Meeting
(for IDSO Voting Members)
1:00 p.m.IDSA’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic Thomas M File, Jr., MD
Summa Health
1:30 p.m. Fellow Presentation # 1Mahmoud Al Saadi, MD
Ohio State
2:00 p.m.Fellow Presentation # 2Tripti Adhikari, MD
Cleveland Clinic
2:30 p.m.Fellow Presentation # 3David Herman, MD
Wright State University
3:00 p.m. Break
3:10 p.m. Fellow Presentation # 4Eloho Ajayi, MD
University of Cincinnati
3:40 p.m. Fellow Presentation # 5 Caitlyn Hollingshead, MD
University of Toledo
4:10 p.m. Fellow Presentation # 6Supriya Singh, MD
Cleveland Clinic
4:40 p.m. Fellow presentation Voting and Prize PresentationsMichael Para, MD
Ohio State University
5:o0 p.m. Adjourn Constantine Tsigrelis, MD

Fellows Case Presentations Winners

Thanks to all the fellows that presented at the 2021 IDSO Annual Meeting, we enjoyed all the case presentations!

1st                 Tripti Adhikari, MD – Cleveland Clinic (Whipple disease)

2nd (tie)        Mahmoud Al Saadi, MD – Ohio State University (Mycobacterium abscessus liver abscess)

2nd (tie)        David Herman, MD – Wright State University (Mycobacterium bovis vertebral osteomyelitis / discitis)

2nd (tie)        Eloho Ajayi, MD – University of Cincinnati (Hemophagocytic lymphohistiocytosis)

3rd (tie)         Caitlyn Hollingshead, MD – University of Toledo (Coccidioidomycosis) 

3rd (tie)         Supriya Singh, MD – Cleveland Clinic (Mucormycosis after COVID-19 infection)

IDSO Spring Meeting 2020

The 2020 IDSO Spring Meeting, previously scheduled for April 18, 2020, was canceled on 3/10/2020 due to COVID-19

IDSO Spring Meeting 2019

May 18, 2019

Columbus, Ohio

Columbus Airport Marriott

1375 N Cassady Avenue

Columbus, Ohio 43219

7:45 a.m.Registration and Breakfast
8:15 a.m.WelcomeJennifer Hanrahan, D.O.
University of Toledo Medical Center
8:30 a.m.Antibiotic StewardshipKurt Stevenson, M.D, MPH
Ohio State University
9:15 a.m.Fellows’ PresentationsJennifer Hanrahan, D.O.
University of Toledo Medical Center
10:45 a.m.Break
11:00 a.m.Update on CAP GuidelinesThomas File, M.D.
IDSA Representative
11:45 p.m.Lunch Break
12:30 p.m.Fellow’s Prize PresentationsJennifer Hanrahan, D.O.
University of Toledo Medical Center
12:45 p.m.Medical Informatics in Infectious DiseasesCory Hussain, M.D.
Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Ohio State University

1:30 p.m.HIV/STI Testing PitfallsAnn Avery M.D.
MetroHealth Medical Center
2:15 p.m.Incorporating Buprenorphine-Naloxone into ID PracticeMelissa Jenkins, M.D.
MetroHealth Medical Center
3:00 p.m.Billing and Coding for Infectious DiseasesNora Colburn, M.D.
Infectious Disease Consultants
3:45 p.m.Rapid Initiation of ARTJoan Duggan, M.D.
University of Toledo Medical Center
4:30 p.m.AdjournJennifer Hanrahan, D.O.
University of Toledo Medical Center

Fellows Case Presentations Winners

Thanks to all the fellows that presented at the 2019 IDSO Spring Meeting, we enjoyed all the case presentations!

1st            Anita Modi – Cleveland Clinic (Mycobacterium chimaera disseminated infection)

2nd           Michael Haden – Ohio State University (Strongyloides hyperinfection)

3rd (tie)    Komal Masood – University of Toledo (Vancomycin induced DRESS) 

3rd (tie)    Christina Boswell – University Hospitals (Shewanella soft tissue infection)

Other presentations:

Mohammad Rai – University of Cincinnati (JC virus CNS infection in setting of natalizumab use)

David Terrero – University of Cincinnati (GVHD in solid organ transplant)


IDSO Spring Meeting 2018

April 28, 2018

Columbus, Ohio

7:45 AMRegistration & Continental Breakfast
8:15 AMWelcomeNazha Abughali, MD
MetroHealth Medical Center
8:30 AMAntibiotic Stewardship in Post-Acute and Long-Term Care SettingsRobin Jump, MD, PhD
Case Western Reserve University
9:15 AMFellows PresentationNazha Abughali, MD
MetroHealth Medical Center
10:45 AMBreak
11:00 AMIDSA Practice Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Management of Infectious DiarrheaLarry Pickering, MD
Emory University
11:30 AMFDA and ACIP Process for and Value of Vaccine RecommendationsLarry Pickering, MD
Emory University
IDSA Representative
12:15 PMLunch
1:00 PMFellows Prize Presentations
1:15 PMGram Negative ResistanceRobert Bonomo, MD
Veterans Affairs, Cleveland
Case Western Reserve University
2:00 PMUpdate on Clostridium difficileCurtis Donskey, MD
Veterans Affairs
2:15 PMBreak
2:30 PMTreatment of HIV in 2018Corrilynn Hileman, MD
Case Western Reserve University
3:15 PMMosquito and Tick Born DiseaseGary Richard, PhD
State Public Health Entomologist
3:45 PMMultistate of MDR Campylobacter OutbreakMartha Montgomery
CDC EIS Officer
Ohio Department of Health
4:15 PMClosingNazha Abughali, MD
MetroHealth Medical Center

IDSO Spring Meeting 2017

Columbus, Ohio

8:30 AMWelcomeNazha Abughali, MD
8:45 AMA public health update for OhioMartha Montgomery
Ohio Department of Health
9:30 AMFellows presentations
11:15 AMIDSA update: Present State and the look AheadSteve Schmitt, MD
IDSA Speaker
1:00 PMPrize Presentations
1:15 PMAntimicrobial resistance, Gram negative bacteriaFederico Perez, MD
2:00 PMPassing the Zeika Forrest to the Global TB pandemic: TB updateCharles Bark, MD
MetroHealth, CWRU
2:45 PMPediatric RSVAsuncion Mejias, MD, PhD, MSCS
Nationwide Children Hospital
3:30 PMClosingNazha Abughali, MD

IDSO Spring Meeting 2017 – Fellows Case Presentations Winners

We enjoyed all fellows case presentations: Fellows winners

1st        Claudia Miguel – Nationwide Children’s Hospital

2nd       Heather Daniels – Cleveland Clinic

3rd        Hadeel Altayib – University of Toledo

3rd        Jannet Tobon – Case Western

3rd        Alpa Desai – Wright State

    Cart is empty